Beating a Dead Horse

Oct 24, 2015 at 11:25 PM
Edited Oct 24, 2015 at 11:27 PM
In the first 15 years of my career I was an IT consultant designing and implementing large Microsoft based networks, clusters, data systems, etc. I left that field to make full motion racing simulators. As a small business owner that's implemented most major ERP systems at one time or another, I am aware of the pitfalls byt I'm also aware of the many much needed benefits.

I've exhausted just about every cloud hosted option. They
re simple priced out of reach at this point in time. We're at a point where we've outgrown QuickBooks yet can't afford a system that actually meets our needs.

I know nothing of the LAMP world aside from setting up some Red Hat SMTP servers yeas ago. I'm intimately familiar with most all Microsoft tech. Interestingly, there are MANY non-Microsoft ERP systems that are fairly robust and affordable. On the flip side, there are almost no reasonably priced Microsoft based ERP systems.

When I first started reading about this project I got excited. I thought that just maybe there actually was an affordable, functional ERP based on the Micosoft technologies I'm proficient in.

I was heartbroken to learn that this project isn't SQL Server or Azure SQL based. As a businessman, I MUST assume that open source contributors will come and go and I must be prepared to accept the worst case scenario. Take a look around this site. It's a open source graveyard for the most part.